Television has had a significant influence on the culture of many society. To what extent would you say that television has positively or negatively affected the cultural development of your society.

It has been around forty years since television was first introduced into Australian households and people still have mixed views on the whether that it has a positive or a negative impact on the society.

Many people believe that television damages culture. It promotes stronger cultures of countries, such as Britain and North America and weakens the cultures of less wealthy countries. This is because stronger, wealthier countries are able to assert their own culture by producing programs which are shown widely around the world. Television programs then influence people, particularly young generation, in the countries where they are shown.

Also, because television networks need to attract large audiences to secure their financial survival and they must produce programs which are interesting to a broad range of people. In Australia this range is very broad because there are a multicultural society and people off all ages like to watch television. To interest all these different people, most television programs are short in length, full of action and excitement, do not require much intelligent and knowledge to understand and follow universal themes to all cultures, such as love and crime. Television programs which concentrate on or develop themes pertinent to one particular culture are not so successful because they interest a smaller audience.

Nevertheless, we must acknowledge that television does have some positive influence on the culture within society as well. People who do not live within their own culture can, in limited way, access it through a multicultural station on the television. For example, migrants and international students living in Australia, can watch programs from their own culture on the television.

In conclusion, I hold the view that television promotes and strengthens those culture that are wealthy and influential while it reduce the cultures that are already in a weakened position.