The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and

emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the

society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own

knowledge and experience.

it is argued that technology is playing an every increasing role in schools and universities. this essay will firstly, discuss student freedom as one of the main advantages of this and secondly, outline decreasing levels of face to face contact as one of the main disadvantages.

one of the principle advantages of an increase in the use electronic devices in education is the autonomy it provides students. students have the freedom to focus on whatever topic or subject they want and study it in depth through the internet. A prime example of this is the amount of online university courses available to students, covering a myriad of subjects, that up until recently were unavailable to most learners. this has resulted in more people studying third level degrees than ever before, at a pace and schedule that suits them.

The main disadvantage associated with increasing use of technology in education is the decrease in face to face interaction between students. students spend more time looking at computer screens by themselves than interacting with each other. For instance, the recent explosion in smartphone use has been at the expense of genuine human interaction. this results in soft skills, such as verbal communication and empathy, being affected.