There are many Vietnamese people who claim that we should merge the Solar New Year and the Lunar New Year. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that the Western New Year and the Lunar New Year should be merged together instead of being celebrated one by one. While more people now favor the idea of unifying them, in my opinion, we should preserve the tradition of celebrating the two events separately.

Quitting up the Tet holiday seems to be unreasonable and virtually impossible for several reasons. First of all, this has been a long-standing tradition and omitting it can spark off intense debates, which leads in many other issues. Additionally, merging the Lunar and the Solar New Year will affect people’s career and personal lives. Tet is considered an invaluable time for family reunions and family bonding. It’s one of the longest national holidays in Vietnam in which all work-related activities are brought to a halt in a course of approximately ten days. Specifically, more and more people now are working far away from home, disconnected and isolated from their loved ones and the Lunar New Year is regarded as a rare time to make up for lost time with family and friends. Therefore, merging them would adversely affect workers' work-life balance.

Another significant reason why these two events should be organized separately is because Tet holiday, in many people’s viewpoint is an obstacle to the national economy, turns out to be a lucrative opportunity for boosting the economy and stimulating tourism, and it would be a waste not having both of them.

In conclusion, the idea of combining the Solar New Year and the Lunar New Year, in my opinion, is not necessary since this Vietnamese has become attached to the traditional Tet holiday, which proves the meaningfulness of this holiday for individuals.