There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because the computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development

Nowadays, it is true that the development of technology such as computer leads to be easy for use and be affordable. This results in the increasing number of people, including employees and graduates, who enjoy spending more time doing at home. Despite some obvious drawbacks of this trend, I would argue that it is more beneficial for individuals.

On the one hand, spending time doing at home has some major drawbacks. Firstly, it is more difficult for companies to manage the time and performance of their work. What I mean by this is that employers would not know exactly what their workers doing in work hours. For example, lazy workers would tend to spend more time relaxing or doing other activities not relating to their major. Secondly, because there are many factors such as family members, babies, employees would be likely to lack concentration completely on their major work. A woman, for instance, with a twelve-month baby needs to take care of her children rather than their work. This can lead to a fact that they have to finish their mass of work at other periods of time, even at night.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. One reason for this view is that workers would not waste more time for travelling and could protect them from the risks on the street. Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam, is a good example. It often takes about from thirty minutes to an hour to commute to their company regardless of the distance from home to work because of the congestion. Additionally, when travelling on the street, workers would have to cope with pollution and accidents. These never happen if they have the chance to work from home. Another reason is that students could take part in some courses at the same time. This means that students can enter both economics, science and foreign language courses to improve their knowledge and make more chances when graduating.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the benefits of working and studying from home with the help of computer technology are much greater than its drawbacks, and this is a positive development.