There has been a huge increase in the sizes of the cities Many cities have grown in an haphazard way Why is careful planning important in the development of cities

It is undeniable that a rapid growth of global population has led to many spatial problems. One of which is the lack of cities’ capability to accommodate high volume of people that often results in unplanned cities. This phenomenon, however, have disadvantages for urban people in many ways. Therefore, this essay will explain in detail the importance of well-planned cities to prevent non-rural related problems occur.

A livable city that is carefully planned can make people living in it have a good quality of health. As a matter of fact, most unorganized cities which have severe congestion often make people suffer from several health issues, namely stress, asthma and high blood pressure. If the government knows how to manage traffic properly and enact appropriate traffic regulations, these kind of problems will not happen. Thus, urban citizens can live physically and mentally healthier because they do not have to face heavy traffic every single day.

Another reason is by having a thorough scheme, a city is able to poses less risk of environmental problems. One cannot deny that air, water and land pollution that is now happening in many metropolitan areas mostly occur not only because of vehicle emission but also industrial activities. Some local governments are unlikely to carefully plan about disposal sites in the first place. Hence, now as the cities grow, factories and household waste are mixed up and scattered, causing potential detrimental effects on inhabitants. All of these cases are proofs that make a long-term plan for a city is essential.

To sum up, it is likely true that planning cities’ development in a careful way is important because by carrying out this, citizens can have better life. Moreover, potential risks such as health and environmental problems due to mismanagement of cities can also be lowered.