There is an increasing amount of advertising directed at children which encourages them to buy goods such as toys and snacks. Many parents are worried that these advertisements put too much pressure on children, while some advertisers claim that they prov

In this day and age, advertisements aimed for children that enhance their desire for toys and foods junk food have been dramatically increasing. While most parents are concerned about the detrimental impacts of marketing to children, companies justify it as providing proper information. Even though I partially understand the benefits, I believe this tendency has more drawbacks when it comes to the well-being of children.

On the one hand, advertisements targeted to children might be beneficial. First of all, since such advertisements are usually simple and understandable, they can be entertaining for kids regardless of their literacy level. Take, for instance, brand jingles or catch phrases used in TV commercials are easily imitated by young boys and girls, and some possess educational and moral aspects. Furthermore, advertisements themselves might be an interesting topic for conversation among peers that might help them to develop friendships. Therefore, advertisements do not always have negative impacts on schoolchildren.

On the other hand, adolescents usually suffer from the disadvantages from of advertisements. Generally, new toys or delicious-looking foods are continuously being produced and promoted, but obviously children cannot allowed to receive everything they want because the vast majority of parents cannot afford to spend so much money on unnecessary goods. In other words, their desire can hardly be fully satisfied as long as new commercials are constantly being broadcasted. Additionally, peer pressure caused by product advertising may cause extra stress on children and teens. It goes without saying that children are inclined to want to possess same items that their peers have. If they cannot be given such items, they will may feel inferior to their friends or might become the targets of bullying in the worst case.

In conclusion, whereas advertisements designed for children might have educational and entertaining benefits, they are likely to cause more mental pressure for both kids and their parents.