There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this

It is said that many married pairs in every corner of the world tend to avoid having children, and this trend has triggered both merits and drawbacks.

Refusing to give birth brings couples loads of benefits on account of some reasons. Firstly, this phenomenon is attributable to the decrease in the amount of residents in a nation; at a result, overpopulation is able to be tackled. In addition, the lesser citizens does a country have, the lesser pollution does the environment bare. Secondly, people will not be under economical pressure, with no money being allocated to school or other children's services. A telling example is the increase in the tuition that parents have to pay for their children, so not giving birth may let them free of this amount of money.

On the other hand, such the fall in the amount of young individuals also cause lots of problems to the country and residents. The first disadvantage is the lack of workforce because many occupations require flexible and creative thinking which can only be seen in the young generation. Moreover, the number of senior citizens might cause financial burden, for the government has to spend money on services for the old such as insurance, entertainment while the number of young people are not enough to meet that standard. The second negative aspect of not having children is the loneliness that people have to face with when they get older. Having no children, individuals have to do anything themselves and be on the verge of depression. For example, a hospital has shown that most of the old people having depression do not have children.

In conclusion, having no children have both positive and negative effects on individual's life, but this situation also depend on the circumstances of each family.