There is an opinion that students should spend time learning about the science of food and the process of making it rather than studying important subjects. Personally, I disagree with this school of thought although it leads students to a healthy life.

Granted, one might argue that learning about food constituents will be advantageous for students. This is predicated on the assumption that learners can manage their calories in the meals if their teachers teach them to analyze the components in food in order to have a healthy life. For instance, diabetes could be avoided when the learners stay away from food products which contain high sugar proportions and start consuming healthy products. According to this theory, students who study about food can become people who have healthy lifestyles. However, this line of reasoning is not sound because food studies is a multidisciplinary course involving chemistry, biology and science, which takes a huge time to study and digest information. In addition, the students will focus less on the compulsory subjects like Maths and English, which are foundation subjects to study those mentioned courses.

To add further credence to my assertion, learning compulsory subjects will lead students to a better future. For example, Mathematics provides an effective way of building sharper thinking and encouraging logical reasoning, English offers learners a skill of analyzing information. In addition, mathematical knowledge plays a crucial role in understanding the contents of other school subjects such as physics, social studies, and even music and art, while English is a language of science, computers and technology. Therefore, it is beneficial to students' academic futures if they know those subjects clearly. Of course, this is not to say that we should not downplay the role of the science of food. However, we should bear in mind that the ability to fully understand core subjects is what matters the most, not their only food knowledge. This renders the efficacy of learning machines, understanding and calculating components, assessing food safety in the food industry questionable at best.

In conclusion, despite the advantages that food studies can bring to students, I am of the opinion that schools should spend time distributing the core subjects because it will help students in their future.