“There’s a big number of people who wish to live in big cities”

Write an essay to educated reader to discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in big cities. Include reasons and any relevant examples to support your answer.

It is popularly said that some big cities are extremely populated because a large number of rural people are creating a wave of migration into more developed areas. This trend would create certain benefits but there will also be some drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is clear that living in modern cities would bring about several advantages. One evident strength is that people are likely to get more career opportunities than in rural areas. In other words, big cities can support residents much more chances of their jobs so that people may earn more money and manage to have better living condition. Another reason is that it would help to considerably improve standard of people’s life. It is clear that in big cities, there are many material and spiritual condition. It becomes easier for people to seek surrounding entertainment parks, supermarkets and big central to satisfy their dairy activities.

On the other hand, there are some obvious disadvantages that would arise. First of all, because of too much people living in the same place, the pollution is one of the drawbacks. It is likely that people go to the cities for better jobs, which means there are more and more factories arise as well. As a result, pollution from smokes, wastewater, toxic pollutants in big cities is unavoidable. Secondly, citizens in cities would face up with the problem of traffic jam. In other words, rural people are flocking to the city and cover all the left space so that there may not enough lands to widen roads. Especially, in the rush hours, there are too much people coming out on the streets for working or to go home. It is therefore no wonder that settlers may suffer from heavily traffic jam in the metropolis.

In conclusion, there are plus points to living in the big cities regarding to job opportunities and better living condition. However, the downside may emerge consequently in terms of pollution and traffic jam if the number of people moving into central areas continues to rise.