There is a trend of increasing amounts of consumer goods, which leads to environmental problems. What are the reasons for this trend? Give your own opinion and solutions.

There is a tendency of growing numbers of consumer products, which causes environmental issues. This essay will suggest that the principal cause of this trend is the comfort and ease rendered by these products and submit a government education program as a viable solution, followed by a reasoned conclusion.

The main cause of this trend being popular is the comfort and effortlessness provided by the consumer products. Convenience products such as microwave ovens, washing machines, dishwashers, have become a ubiquitous part of the contemporary lifestyle. Nowadays, life is very hectic because of overwork and cut-throat competition. Consumer products save our time and they act as stress busters too. For example, when I was a kid my mother used to wash clothes by hand which is a very cumbersome process, currently she uses a washing machine which saves her valuable time.

The most practical solution to this problem is a government-sponsored awareness campaign. An effective advertising campaign could warn of the devastating repercussions of overuse of consumer products and hopefully, raise awareness amongst the public. This raised awareness of the problem would lead many people to switch to conventional products which are less dangerous for our environment. For example, the Bhutan government lobbied their denizens to stop using those consumer goods which are detrimental for the environment; this initiative resulted in decreased sales of certain consumer products.

To summarize, extensive use of consumer goods has been caused by people’s proclivity for a pleasurable and tension-free life and states should retrench this by educating men and women to put a cap on the use of consumer products.