These days many of us prefer to throw damaged things away,
whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and
keep them for a long time
My mother s generation had many skills that young people lack today In the past people could
mend clothes, sew on buttons and fix a broken tap. but this is not true of current generations who
tend to replace and not repair This essay will discuss why these changes have occurred and
what effects this is having
Today fashion changes quickly, but in the past it changed slowly Clothing and furniture for
example would last for many years; even generations However, these days with pervasive
advertising and communication via social media, information about new items travels quickly and
we tend to throw out the old to buy the new. Another reason that fashions change is that
manufacturers are motivated to make goods that don't last very long. For example cars today are
built to last five to ten years, since in the past cars would last longer By having early
obsolescence manufacturers can sell more goods.
This change m attitude has unskilled the public and is damaging our environment We have lost
both the skills and the will to keep up our possessions In fact often we see it as exciting to make
new purchases Another change is that we now create more negative environmental impact
because many of the goods we buy and throw out are not biodegradable We have become a
generation of consumers and we are damaging the environment , This is a huge change from the
past.