These days many of us prefer to throw damaged things away whereas in the past people used to repair damage and keep them for a long time. Explain why you think these changes that happened. What are the effects of this changing attitude ?

Over the past few years, a thrown-away society can be seen clearly in the growing number of people discarding unusable items unlike those in the past who chose to maintain them by repairing. While there are several underlying reasons behind the phenomenon, it should also be recognized that the tendency can have a profound implication on the environment and individuals.

There are several reasons for this tendency. To begin with, advances in technology have enabled mass production, which usually tends to produce a huge number of non-durable items at lower prices. The availability of products, hence, encourages consumers to purchase new commodities instead of mending them. In addition, commercial advertisements are a powerful contributor to consumerism society as it can tempt people into buying the latest and novelty products. For example, the publication of the new iPhone version attracts a lot of people to change their smartphone although their current one is still in good condition. Another key consideration is that people live a hectic lifestyle where they do not spend much time mending things.

The environment is one of the most affected areas by the trend. To be more specific, raw materials such as trees and metals used for manufacturing are likely to run out in the not-too-distant future because of mass production. Moreover, discharging damaged items, especially plastic ones, into the environment in large quantities will lead to a lack of landfills as well as pollution because its decomposition can take thousand years and emit excessive toxic smoke. For individuals, they can easily get into debt when keeping a habit of buying unnecessary things just for constant gratification.

In conclusion, I believe that there are various reasons for the changing attitude and it has an adverse effect on the environment and people.