These days, a multitude of students using a year after finish school with a view to traveling or working prior to going to tertiary. In this essay, I will highlight some merits and demerits of this issue and give my opinion in the conclusion.

It is widely acknowledged that there are several benefits for students who take a gap year in hopes of traveling and working. Firstly, by common consent, many students could enhance interpersonal communication. It is the fact that traveling provides an opportunity to broaden their horizons to they could enrich such their knowledge as foreign language skills, and become more self-esteem. Besides that, students also refresh their minds after these days stressful with study in secondary school with a view to having a proper career orientation. Another merit is that students who use a gap year to find some temporary jobs, they would obtain the hands-on experience from such a part-time job, which helps polish their CVs and do wonders for the future career. Moreover, students would know how to manage their budget and might use such money for daily expenses.

Admittedly, that students who spend a year to travel or work properly most of them would fail to keep up with their peers. From that, in the long run, they would lose some certain academic knowledge and study momentum, which leads to poor academic performance. From that, they might drop out of school, which adversely directly affects their future later. On top of that, if they have not properly-prepared they might be confronted with some such unexpected situations as sexual harassment, pickpocketing, overcharging, and shoplifting at well. This is because they do not well-rounded enough to address a problem when they find themselves at stake.

To sum up, it seems to me that all the aforementioned benefits of taking a gap year. I reckon that students could be gained more knowledge than losing.