These days, people work in more than one job, and often change career several times during their life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, it is less and less likely that a person has only one job their whole life. In fact, many people often find themselves at a career crossroad every few years. There are both benefits and drawbacks to the decision to change career.

Clearly, there are several positives to working different jobs. First and foremost, it is usually an opportunity to further one’s career. In many cases, people decide to work for another company because they are offered a managerial role or simply a position with greater promotion prospect. Another major advantage of working more than one job is gaining a variety of different skills and experience. In this competitive world, this can increase their chances of getting jobs as they are more versatile and able to take on more roles. For example, many of my colleagues have different professional experiences, some of which are seemingly unrelated to their current positions. However, the skills that they learned from their previous jobs are transferable and help them perform better.

On the other hand, there are also some drawbacks we need to consider before making the decision to change career. It might create an impression of disloyal if a person keeps changing his or her job too often. Generally, employers have to invest in training when they hire new staff, and it is understandable that they prefer someone who can stay for more than a couple of years. A person who works for each company for only one or two years might be interpreted as a bad investment. Another disadvantage is that it might actually hinder one’s professional development. Many companies offer professional training and opportunities to move up the career ladder to senior staffs only.

In conclusion, changing career can bring both pros and cons to a person’s professional path. It can be a good opportunity to learn new skills and have a better job. However, missing chances of training and promotion as well as being seen as disloyal can become an obstacle in one’s career. Personally, I think each person should consider the long-term goal and decide whether a career switch is worthwhile or not.