The threat of nuclear energy maintains world peace. Nuclear energy provides cheap and clean energy.

The benefits of nuclear technology outweigh the disadvantages.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For some extent, I agree with the opinion, although I have some concern with nuclear technology itself. If I think about how far we reach the development of nuclear energy since World War II, I definitely agree for use them as power source. Nuclear provide cheap and clean energy, which is better from traditional energy source like coal and oil. Hydrocarbon creates pollution and causing global warming as the effect carbon dioxide in the air. The transportation of oil from place to place also created problem such as spilled oil in ocean, or the leak from pipe line in the land. On the other hand nuclear created from atom fusion by leaving no residue and pollution. However, nuclear is very dangerous technology, which is why so far only advanced country can using them as power source, because, even they so far make no pollution, nuclear also causing disaster if there are something wrong while operating the technology. The recent leak of nuclear plant power in Fukushima Japan is still fresh on our memory and the residue still contaminating Pacific Ocean.

There were debates about using nuclear technology as weapons maintain world peace. Peace that created in form of fear of the weapon is not real peace. It’s a threat and there were not actual freedom. However, it did make war stop, because everyone know how dangerous the nuclear weapon. After banishing Hiroshima and Nagasaki in one sight, I do think no one want to start nuclear war. Doesn’t matter how far we reach the technology, using them as weapon of war are too dangerous to human kind. I do not agree using them to maintained world peace, but I understand they work well to keep country openly starting a war.