The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheapand clean energy.The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nuclear energy is a two sided sword. On the one hand, it provides sustainable clean energy, while on the other hand, it provides weapons of mass destruction. However, I believe the benefits of using nuclear energy far outweigh its disadvantages, and it is essential to the world peace.

Throughout human history, man has derived energy by burning fossil fuels such as coal, oil and natural gas. Excavation and burning of fossil fuels on a large scale for factories and automobiles have disturbed the ecological balance of nature and is leading to pollution and global warming. In contrast, nuclear power provides a clean source of energy as it does not release any harmful gases into the atmosphere. Energy generated using nuclear power is even cheaper than that generated by burning fossil fuels. The radioactive waste products of nuclear energy can be kept in specially created containers so that they do not disturb the environment.

Opponents of nuclear energy always cite the risks of a nuclear war by the development of nuclear weapons. However, it is interesting to note that till today there has not been a single major war between states possessing nuclear weapons. The United States and Russia were rivals during the cold war. However, they never went to a war as doing so would mean destruction on a large scale on both sides. India and Pakistan fought three major wars since their independence. However, after possessing nuclear weapons, there has not been a single major war between them. Possession of nuclear weapons acts as a deterrent to war, as a war between two nuclear weapons state would lead to catastrophe on both sides. The only use of nuclear weapons the world has seen is on Hiroshima and Nagasaki by the United States during World War 2. Both the cities were levelled with tens of thousands of people killed instantly and more than thousands later by the radiation poisoning. Mankind cannot afford such devastation.

In light of the above arguments, I believe the benefits of using nuclear energy far outweigh its disadvantages, and it is essential to the world peace.