Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of society in which they are sold.To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Since the arrival of the advanced technology, a wide variety of information is accessible on the internet and television for human beings. Hence, advertising has become a prevailing way of marketing. However, it is often argued that the popular commodities are often because of the potent advertising rather than the actually demands of the entire society. In my view, I completely agree with the prompt

People tend to buy the goods which they is not necessarily needed. This is often due to the fact of the popularity of advertising. A case in point is that the extravagant goods advertised on the television. With the elegant expression and charming images, people often succumb to the temptation of these luxurious commodities. In this case, it is a waste of expenditure for people on account of the fact that those expensive goods are certainly unnecessary to people in daily lives.

On top of the opinion above, people are often persuaded by the other measures of marketing. One particularly salient example of this can be seen in the sale of exercise equipment on the television. The advertisement was endorsed by the celebrities such as popular singer and athletes in order to attract more generation. In this circumstance, people are inclined to purchase the goods by virtue of the sponsorship of famous person rather than the actually need.

Admittedly, advertising not only publicize the goods, but also creates more option for people to select. Nevertheless, I believe it is imperative for the advertising to convey the convincing evidence and efficacy of the commodities rather than promoting for purchasing.

By way of conclusion, as I have argued above, I firmly suggest it is of paramount importance for people to choosing the goods which is surely necessary rather than by its appealing promotion of advertising.