Today a majority of children are raised by their grandparents due to the fact that their parents are busy working.

Is it a positive or negative development? Why?

Many grandparents receive postal cards, emails and phones from their grandchildren. However, a significant number of grandparents do exactly what they do every day. They make their grandchildren breakfast, organize their activities and help them with their homework in the evening. That is to say, they are primary caretakers of their grandchildren. This phenomena is common among families which parents are unable to raise their own children as a result of being both of them busy working. Despite all efforts which grandparents put into taking care of their grandchildren, they may not succeed to entirely meet their emotional needs.

Parents consider as the main responsible for upbringing their offsprings. In comparison, due to lack of some emotional characteristics which exist specifically in a relationship between parents and their children, grandparents are not able to carry out some parental roles successfully. The circumstances of children who live with their grandparents are not going to go smoothly. They will face emotional problems such as poor impulse control and dramatic mood swings as a result of neglect of their parents. In addition, enormous age gap between grandparents and grandchildren will results that they do not understand each other properly.

If we notice this issue from a different point of view, there are also some disadvantages for grandparents . In an age that they are planning to have a peaceful retirement they should spend their time taking care of their grandchildren.

In conclusion, raising children by their grandparents will have drawbacks for children and grandparents as well. Grandchildren will not pass normal development stages and grandparents will involve many trouble in an age which they need to rest.