Today in many countries people are living in a “throwaway” society where things are used for a short time then thrown away. What do you think is the cause and what problems will it lead to?

In various nations these days, people are living in a “throwaway” society where people use their objects for a short period then quickly discard them. I will elaborate the main causes and possible effects of this situation in my essay.

In my point of view, the foremost causes of a “throwaway” society are the upgrade in living standards and the proliferation of advertisements. First, the increasing living standards are likely to be followed by people's higher income. As people earn more, they are inclined towards spending money on goods instead of saving. When the accumulated products have reached capacity, they will be discarded as a result. Second, the advertising industry is aiming for meeting consumers’ demands by producing an increasing number of goods. In order to make a profit and induce people to purchase more, many companies opt for ameliorating the appearance of goods and providing misleading information about their products Whilst companies are making headway by constantly utilising these tactics, consumers are drawn to purchase unnecessary and short-lived commodities, which can directly lead to the existence and persistence of a “throwaway” society.

The development of a “throwaway” society can bring about adverse effects associated with the environment and young people’s behavior. People may put the environment on the line by inconsiderate methods of waste treatment. When a plethora of goods are quickly disposed of by consumers, the orthodox way is to bury or burn them. Admittedly, these disposal methods extensively harm the environment by accelerating soil pollution as well as air pollution. The second consequence imposed by a “throwaway” society is the deterioration of young people’s sense of saving. As consumerism is becoming a commonplace in the society, the perception of young people on spending can be altered. That is, the younger generation is prone to follow the negative spending habits of the adults, which will induce them to purchase more and more.

To sum up, a “throwaway” society is the consequence of today’s living standards and advertising strategies, and it can pose serious threats to the environment and young people’s spending habit. Unless the causes are thoroughly considered and rationally tackled, the harms will only be exacerbated.