Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by the local farmers. Would the advantages of

Nowadays, a considerable amount of food products consumed by people imported from other remote nations. One idea gained currency among the people is that consuming local products produced by native farmers would be beneficial with regard to economic and environmental aspects. The question here is whether the positive impact of using local food products have the edge over drawbacks?

As people consume products which are generated by regional agriculture, laying the groundwork for providing local people with ample job opportunities. This, in turn, causes the rate of employment soar in local places and consequently improve the income level of the indigenous people. Apart from that, if consumers place a premium on using those food products which are cultivated by native farmers, there are not required products freighted either throughout by airplanes, ships, and heavy trucks. These kinds of conveyances consume fossil fuel in bulk which has a detrimental effect on the environment. It means, the more local products people use, the less air pollution they have.

However, the downside cannot be ignored. Local agriculture fails to meet all the food products’ local customers considering that they have to rely on extrinsic resources from other regions or countries. Doing this leads to local people will not face the scarcity of products during a year. Moreover, cultivating some crops are not economical and place an undue burden on the local states. Take farming watermelon, for instance; in order to cultivate ten-pound this kind of fruit, farmers have to consume plenty of water more than other crops required. This requirement for cultivating watermelon causes those arid countries which involve with the dearth of water to prefer to import it from other countries.

In conclusion, regardless of some negative points, I believe that paying heed to local agriculture and advocating native farmers by purchasing their goods could be a positive attitude which leads to economic progress in countries and preserving the environment.