Today, there is insufficient respect to the elderly by the younger individuals. What do you think are the reasons? What are its effects to the society?

At current times, traditional values seems to be given less importance especially by the younger generation. One of the said values is paying respect to older people which is now less observed. There are possible reasons why this particular humane aspect is seen as disvalued by children.

Admittedly, environmental influences in the upbringing of children play a major role to individual attitudes and behaviors. Parents are viewed as the first teachers so these persons are expected to inculcate values education to their offspring such as giving respect, helping other people, and distinguishing right from wrong. However, as there are more teenage pregnancies nowadays, the preparation to parenthood is not usually met. As a result, these teenage parents may not be able to teach their children about the aforementioned values. In addition, early exposure to the usage of technological gadgets such as mobile phones, laptops, and computers bring impact as to how a child view the world. For instance, unguided video streaming online which shows jokes and humors concerning the elderly could be entertaining to children but can affect their thoughts regarding the aged people as a child grows up. Distorted perspective regarding elderly could be carried upon such as "It is okay to make fond of grandparents" which leads to disrespectful attitude.

Given these reasons, these children will soon become mature members of the society. As this generation is composed of disrespectful and inconsiderate people, elderly might be viewed as useless and dysfunctional people of the community.

This bothersome issue is somehow, needs to be address. Since parents has a crucial role in the molding of children to be a good individual person as a whole, these people should be responsible enough to become parents. This can be done by showing parental support and guidance through spedning more time to children during developmental stage so that good manners as in the case of respecting the older people can be taught and practice. Additionally, parents should regulate the use of gadgets to their children to ensure that contents are appropriate for the viewer's age. This can be done by giving feedbacks to video content in order for the child to know rightful actions from those unacceptable to the society's norms.

To conclude, environmental influences such as the lack of parental teaching and guidance and exposure to technological contents online contribute to children seen as having little respect to the aged population. This will in turn, makes up a society a full of disrespectful and inconsiderate citizens.