Today, TV channels provide men’s sport shows more than women’s sports shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal time to women’s sport and men’s sport?

Nowadays, male sports show account for most of the streaming time on sports media, leaving female sports shows with very little attention. The main reason for this issue is the audience preference on gender, and I personally think that equal coverage for both sexes is essential.

It is clear that TV channels give priority to men’s sports programs as there are more viewers watching male athletes than their female counterparts. Coverage of women in sports is often dominated by references to appearance, age, or family life, whereas men are depicted as powerful, independent, and valued as athletes, thereby rendering female sport shows relegated. Additionally, sports involving men are more competitive and more aggressive, which makes their shows simply more dramatic and sensational. Therefore, the number of people watching men doing sports generally outnumber people enjoying female sports shows. Moreover, the commercial aim of the media can generate more profits from matches and contests played by men. However, I believe that equal showing time for both genders should be considered. Increasing awareness and exposure to coverage of women’s sport’s on media will increase interest in and decrease prejudice towards sportswomen and female athletes. Indeed, in recent years, the achievements of female sports have been rising on an incredible scale so they deserve more public endorsement. Furthermore, more showing time may attract more investments from sponsors which are essential to motivating the spirit of female athletes as well as the producers of women’s sports channels. As a result, more appealing events about women doing sport on TV will be produced and it will encourage more sports fans, particularly women to exercise and thus improve their health.

In conclusion, uneven distribution of screen time for men’s games and women’s game can be attributed to gender stereotypes. I am of the opinion that there should be greater equality in the showtime of both genders in the field of sports. As it can upgrade the lives of female sportswomen and promote a healthy message to the public.