Topic 2: In your opinion, does the education system prepare a student for the real world? If yes, in which ways? If not, what are the gaps?

A lot of students are dejected because of the big distance between school life and real-life after graduating every year. From my perspective, the education system does provide students with a foundation for academic work, however not enough for the real world it is.

We cannot deny the background that the education system build for us was well designed logically. Although every country has its own education systems, they share the similarity in the reasonable structure. To be detailed, there was a difference in the levels of organization between the United States’ education system and Vietnam’s. The US’s system is divided into primary, secondary, and higher education while secondary school in Vietnam is split into lower secondary and upper secondary. Nevertheless, most children of the countries must attend school from ages 6 to 18 which means that going to school at this age is scientifically suitable. Schools are an ideal place for children to grow up and gain knowledge. Not until the child reaches the limit of their parents’ knowledge do they consider the importance of schooling. Parenting has already been hard work for mothers and fathers; hence the school will share one part of the responsibility by educating the child with both academic knowledge and skills. A child who goes to school will receive better insurance such as a graduate certificate after graduating which can be used for his/her CV while homeschooling does not have any insurance for the child to convince their future employer.

On the other hand, the education system still cannot supply a well-preparation for the students when they face the real world’s situation. Lacking practical experience is one of the most common problems that students are failed to solve. English – a compulsory subject in Vietnam, for example, is still a hard and impractical subject to some students because of its unrealistic usage. A Vietnamese student who graduated upper secondary school with an 8 score in English uses some academic words to communicate with foreigners while an American may use those words once in a blue moon. As we can see, what students have learned is far different from what they need to have to deal with in real life. Less-than-a-year graduated applicants cannot offer their dream job due to lacking experience. This is because what the student received after learning about four years in university or college is an academic certificate, which means students have no experience in the job. As the result, students themselves must spend time working for a low salary or even for free as well as doing another job that is related to the major to gain experience as soon as it satisfies the employer’s demand. This heart-breaking reality is day by day disappointing students who are trying to conserve the dream to do their favorite job.

To sum up, the education system prepares the background academic knowledge for a student, but this is not enough for them to cope with the gaps between the school environment and real life which is a main defect of the education system.