TOPIC:

Books and movies are considered as two popular tools of entertainment.

Write an essay to discuss the similarities and differences of these types

Nowadays, books and movies are considered as two popular entertainment tools. Most people use them for entertainment purposes in their free time. However, there are also some people who argue that books are better than movies and vice versa. Therefore, in this essay, I will compare and contrast movies and printed books by discussing two main points: imagination, and portability and convenience.

Imagination plays a very important role when we mention books and movies. Reading requires us to think, imagine the situation, story and the personalities of the characters while movies are made from our imagination. Research shows that reading can make us smarter, more creative because when we read a book we have to concentrate and imagine, our brain is forced to work and from there our creativity as well as knowledge are greatly reinforced. On the other hand, movies leave viewers with little imagination, but focus more on visual effects.

Another point to share is the portability and convenience. Book is simple and portable. As long as there is a stable light source, we can read books anywhere, maybe in our break time at school or while waiting for the bus. If we don't read anymore, we can fold it and take it everywhere with us. As for movies, we can still watch them anywhere with your phone, but I'm not sure there will be internet connection everywhere or your phone or laptop will be fully charged and don't need power.

In summary, we can not decide which media is better because this all depends on the individuals’ choice and interest. Older people may prefer reading to watching movies while younger generations seem to prefer watching movies in their spare time. Movies and books have different ways of presenting the story. However, they provide some similar prospects such as the main ideas of the story.