Topic: In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In recent years, it has been reported that people in developed countries have a higher average life expectancy than in the past. This trend can be the original reasons for many negative consequences in our society and I believe that the government should provide several policies to mitigate the potential problems.

There are various issues attracting social concerns due to the increase in life expectancy. One of the drawbacks is that the government will have more heavy burdens on the national budget. In other words, the growth in the number of elderly people is causing the amount of money needed for the pension to rise, while the government will receive less money in taxes from the workforce. Another negative impact is that younger people will have to bear more pressure to support their parents and grandparents. For instance, many Vietnamese young adults are facing a wide range of financial problems because their salary is used for their elderly relatives’ taking care services expenses.

In my view, the government should enforce many policies to solve the problems related to a longer lifetime. Firstly, an effective solution would be done is to increase the retirement age from 60 to 70. By doing that, the government can reduce burdens on the amount of pension for the elders. A second measure is that more of the national budget should be allocated to older people’s basic needs. For example, the Japanese national budget includes categories for accommodation, health care services and transportation to support the older people, which can help younger people to have more time for their work.

In conclusion. In many nations having a high standard of living, the increase in life expectancy has had many effects on our community, which can be tackled by the government’s actions.