Topic: Giving detailed description of crimes in newspapers and on TV can have negative consequences, so it should be restricted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is worth noting that these days have witnessed the extensive coverage of offence news in the media. Some people are of the opinion that detail criminal news should be banned since people can be adversely affected by this news. However, I just agree with this point of view to some extent and this essay will clarify my position.

To begin with, it is likely that detailed descriptions of crimes on TV or in newspapers may facilitate offences in society. In other words, people especially youngsters are easily prone to crimes when frequently exposed to violent contents on TV. In fact, they can learn detailed techniques of a crime, enabling people to imitate and commit crimes. A recent survey conducted in the US shows that the crime rate among the youth has been on the rise in recent years since they form anti-social behaviors and improper attitudes according to crimes showed on TV. What is more, it is without dispute that toxic contents online can increase the risk of mental disorder among people. To be more specific, people are more likely to suffer from depression or anxiety when they have to watch criminal news on a regular basis.

Nonetheless, it is justified to claim that such descriptions have long been perceived as a beneficial educational tool. Thanks to this news, people can get deeper insight into offences, thereby, resulting in the fact that they can be fully aware of their devastating consequences and avoid engaging in these crimes. Many experts argue that detailed information of crimes play a pivotal role in educating young people and helping develop on the right track. Furthermore, only when people equip themselves with efficient knowledge of offences in society can they are well prepared in order not to become criminal victims.

In conclusion, I am firmly convinced that whether detailed descriptions of crimes have an adverse effect on people or not depends on people’s attitudes and behaviors. Therefore, publication of criminal news should not be totally banned in the media since it raises public awareness of serious consequences of offences.