Topic: An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgeries. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Cosmetic surgeries are becoming more and more popular among societies. While each individual may have different motives to take this operations to adjust their appearance, I tend to attribute this fad to media influences and human notions of beauty. Meanwhile, I believe this development has both negative and positive impact.

In modern age, media and technology have an ubiquitous and dominant effect on human’s daily lives. Young generations are getting access to internet and exposed to advertisements on a daily basis that induce them to persue perfection in all aspects of life. Sequently, changing the way they look by cosmetic surgeries stands out as a key persuit. Moreover, doing beauty operations can help people who are obsessed about body image relieve themselves from insecurity and unconfidence to pursue a better life. Besides, technology breakthroughs are also one of the key factors that encourage people taking such surgeries because of cost reduction. These operations are no longer considered as a luxurious activity but now are available and affordable for all people.

In terms of the pros and cons, I believe that it can be a two-pronged development. The advantages of this activity manifest itself sparkly in cases of people who unluckily get accidents that may damage their appearance. Cosmetic surgeries are the best method for such people to continue their lives. On a negative basis, the risk rate of these operations are so high that it can damage people’s look for good. Besides, there are a lot of unqualified doctors and beauty salons activating based on profits, that may result in side effects like infections for people taking these operations.

In conclusion, media and technology renovation is now changing the way people perceive about beauty that leads to the increasing number of people taking cosmetic surgeries. In my opinion, this development is both benificial and detrimental at the same time.