Topic: More government investment should be on the teaching of science than any other subjects in order to keep a country’s development and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are some people supporting the heavy government’s subsidy on science-related subjects rather than on the remaining ones, as they believe such financial allocation would facilitate economic enhancement of a nation. However, in my opinion, whether to allocate more money on scientific fields or the others really depends on certain circumstances of a nation.

Government-backed programs and budgets on science subjects can be beneficial for developing and emerging countries who rely on the technology developed by advanced nations. More investment directed to education science means that the schools have more money to build state-of-the-art laboratories and hold competitive scientific competitions. This could encourage more students to choose science as their majors, and thus produces an abundance of labor working in science domains in the future. Given this development in the work force, a developing or emerging country may increase the overall ability to absorb technology from foreign countries, which would eventually boost its productivity and economic development. This can be clearly seen in the case of Vietnam in the early 1990s, when its government decided to allot more capital to science education. This wise investment has brought about unprecedented economic outcomes for this nation, which could not have been obtained if it had not been such correct choice of the Vietnamese state.

However, in terms of the developed countries, merely focusing on science education might not be an optimal choice because what these nations need to boost their economy is beyond the purview of science. While the less developed countries require science knowledge to adapt to the existing technology to produce goods and services, more advanced countries necessitate creativity to create new scientific breakthroughs. Without equal exposure to other subjects that provoke the ability of creating new ideas such as arts, students in these countries may succumb to the dearth of inventing capabilities. The feat directing equal investment to many subjects can be observed in Poland’s education system. Thanks to this balance allocation, this country continuously boasts significant scientific breakthroughs that could enhance its over productivity and other countries’ economic development as well. If Poland state focused more on spreading solely science aspects, it could put a stultifying effect on the country’s development, grinding its economy to a halt.

In conclusion, while it is justifiable for developing and emerging countries’ governments to put more money into science education, an equal financial allocation to all subjects would be a wiser course of action for advanced countries to boost their economic status.