Topic: Some people say that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people say that unpaid community service shouldn’t be a compulsory part of high school programs participating in volunteer group distracts students from studying. However, in my opinion, taking part in unpaid community service in high school curriculums (curricula) brings students a number of benefits for the two following reasons giving students opportunities for social life and promoting both physical and mental health.

First of all, there’s no doubt that participating in volunteering activities gives students opportunities for social life. To become a successful adult, they need, of course, gain essential skills, such as communication and solving skill. As you know, the more people we meet, the more things we can learn; therefore, how you can meet many people when you’re only at home and school. Luckily, volunteer allows you to connect to various of people ( teenagers, adults, elders,etc…). By experiences, you learn the way to talk with each kind of person, and I’m sure you will be surprised for the knowledge that you learn from them.Another vital skill is solving flair. Becoming a young adult is the most difficult time of life. You have trouble with work and relationships like friends, family and colleges. If you can’t handle it, you will lose. In addition, volunteering help you find your purpose of life: the person you want to be, the thing you want to do. For example, you spend time caring for children at orphanage, which make you realise you love them so much and encourage you to be a pediatrician. It’s so amazing.

More significantly, Being involved volunteering activities boosts your physical and mental health. The VOA article has shown that people who do good things tend to live not only longer but also healthier. They explain that while helping others, your body produce a chemical that advance the immune system to protect yourself from diseases like chronic pain and heart diseases. In addition, playing a role in unpaid community service promote mental health. You feel more self- confidence, responsible and mature since you’re doing meaning works for your own country. Beside, keeping contact with people help you develop a solid support system, which protect you against stress and depression when you’re facing hardened time.

Some opponents of taking part in volunteer may claim that participating this activities distract students from studying. While it might be true, the more momentous is teaching them how to manage time. This skill is the key to help you succeed in college, where you not only focus on subject but also have to take part in many activities. Furthermore, score is not only factor to achieve. All good positions in company require employees having experiences and foreign language. As the result, volunteer give you better career opportunities in future.

To sum up, unpaid community service is necessary in high school curriculum. First, taking part in volunteer provides students opportunities for social life. Moreover, volunteering activites promote physical and mental health. Lastly, I believe that people who receive a comprehensive education are the key to develop a wealthy country.