The UN recently celebrated its 70th anniversary. What benefits has it brought during this time? Do you think the UN will last another 70 years?

On October 24th, 1945, after the end of the Second World War, countries around the globe gathered around to discuss the rebuilding of peace and harmony in the world, while also resolving conflicts and issues between nations worldwide. Hence, there needs to be a neutral participant, unwavering and uninfluenced by countries for their benefit. Thus, an organization was born, the United Nations. During its 70 years of existence, the United Nations has been rapidly expanding its role as the peacekeeper of the globe, reaching out to many more activities other than settling confrontations. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss its achievements in its role as the leading peacekeeping foundation of human civilization, along with the possibilities of its future.

When talking about the UN, it has, without a doubt, played a critical role in promoting peace and unity throughout the planet, stopping disputes, and organizing and providing aid to many parts of the world with difficulties. It is the agency that hosts the world stage, giving each and every nation a say in global affairs and guaranteeing their rights and respect. Their assistance has proved to be beneficial for countries plagued with social issues such as poverty, illiteracy, and diseases or those affected by natural disasters, such as tsunamis, earthquakes, floods, or eruptions, aiding their recoveries from the impacts. Additionally, the United Nations is also an active participant in the health sector, strengthening global health through its well-known branch, the World Health Organization. Brother states from less urbanized regions have greatly profited from the help of the WHO in improving their national healthcare systems, such as the nationwide education on health keeping, and the eradication of plagues like malaria and cholera. For instance, many countries in Africa, Asia, and South America have been able to curb the waves of various diseases thanks to the assistance of the WHO.

Regarding the second question, the future of the UN. With the rising displeasure of the Middle East with the Western powers, along with the disputes of the South China Sea-Taiwan and the cannot-go-unmentioned Russia invasion of Ukraine, it seems that we are setting a world stage to burn. Despite this grim future, it is worth noting that a myriad of conflicts has been resolved by the UN's efforts to mediate the interest of opposing sides to prevent the last straw. In addition to this, as nations develop and become more interdependent, the more it is required for a podium where they can discuss their disputes and an organization to judge and uphold global justice. While there exist different federations with similar power, none has the matching power that of the UN. Thus, as we progress deeper into the territory of this century full of turmoil, the more it is necessary for us to have a leading figure to control ourselves like the UN.

In conclusion, due to the need for an unbiased organization to be the global leader and the tremendous advancements the UN has made during its past years, I believe that the UN will be an indispensable entity that will exist for years to come.