Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case.

Do you agree or disagree?

According to the laws in Britain and Australia, the previous records of the person who is being charged of a crime cannot be revealed to the panel of judges who are involved in that particular case. However, some lawyers in those counties do not agree to this and wants a reform in this in order to make the judges more familiar about the past records of the person involved and give their judgement considering it.

The lawyers do have a valid point here and I would support to it as a person can only be clearly judges on the basis of his deeds. It is famously said that "Once a thief, is always a thief", thus habits of a person cannot be easily changed. When a person goes against the laws and regulation and commit a crime, then its unstoppable for him. He would continue doing it until some serious actions are taken against him. So, while a defendant is going through a case, by looking into the past records, the jury can judge the actions of the person and take actions according to it.

It has also been noticed that many times a person is charged with a fine for breaking regulations of the nation and is then free to go. This freedom makes him repeat his mistakes and which sometimes can make him do a bigger crime for which he has to be punished. In such cases, the criminal record helps to give a correct punishment to the criminal.

These days it is very easy to fabricate the evidences and prove a criminal not guilty of a crime, and in such cases it is very crucial for the judges to decide who is guilty and who is not. In order to give punishment to the actual criminal, these criminal records play a very important role. They can tell whether the person is capable of doing crimes or not.

In order to make the work of judges easier and precise, access to previous criminal records must be granted so that only wrong people will suffer and the justice will be given to the sufferers.