Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development overweight the disadvantages?

In recent times, one pursuing his learning via educational web-portals is getting increasingly popular. Even, educational bodies have also started offering alternatives to pursue the same with modern techniques rather than tutor based methods. In this essay I am going to discuss both sides and will also provide rationales why distance learning is superior.

On the brighter side, thanks to digitalization which has made world a smaller place, now it is possible for one to attend his classes virtually from anywhere. Plus, since the lectures are delivered entirely digitally, it is really easy to store them onto a hard drive and upload the same on portals for future references in means of a videos or presentations. This offers two great advantages to the student and colleges, firstly, they can access the content anytime as and when the need arises and secondly, since the entire lecture is recorded, university does not need to invest a penny for the same lecture again in the future.

However, as every coin has it 's flip side, e-learning is no different. Since, the lectures are delivered through a computer or mobile devices, the personal touch between a student and their mentor is lost which is vital for one's development. Moreover, in past, there are several incident came up which shows that students are deviated from their curriculum because the device which can be used for studies can also be used to play games and these are really addictive. As younger minds do not posses enough maturity to differentiate a good or bad side of anything they easily get addicted to the applications and games present on their smartphone and spoil their education.

Finally, having discussed both positives and negatives about on-line study. In my opinion e-learning offers best in terms of availability and flexibility.