Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your re

Furnishing the young generations with tertiary education play an indispensable part in the government’s policies. However, most policy makers reckon that it is infeasible and inefficient to offer the vast majority of the youth higher education. From my perspective, I completely agree with this statement for the following reasons.

It proves impossible for a country to provide entry to tertiary education for all young people. The first reason is the prohibitive tuition fees and the inability to afford them of the majority of youths. College or university undergraduates are supposed to learn from experiments, purchase costly materials during a term, let alone other field trips if one majors in practical fields of study like engineering or medical. All of these plus the fact that many students from rural areas find it tough to meet only the annual tuition fees, especially in poverty-stricken countries. This leads to the second reason in which I mean government have other priorities such as universal education, healthcare system to invest in.

It also does not seem useful for the whole country once the state wish to accommodate the youth with higher education. This is primarily because there is no guarantee that students will become successful and contribute to the well-being of their nation after finishing their education. There are the cases when distinguished graduates fail to secure a decent job and thus become unemployed, exacerbating the burden on society as a consequence. Even worse, some are likely to slack off with their studies or even drop out of school as they either take higher education for granted or find no motivation in furthering their knowledge, given the thought that tertiary education is subsidized or free of charge.

In conclusion, it’s my firm belief that not only it is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people