University students always focus on one special subject, but some people think universities should encourage students to study a wide spectrum of subjects. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Going to university has become a part of every adult's educational life to succeed in his/her future career. There is a group of people who believe universities have to change their policy and offer a wide range of subjects instead of focusing on specific ones. I hold the view that the universities' curriculum ought to be flexible based on in which year the student is.

Presenting different categories of subjects to the students could enrich their general skills and information. For example, courses such as art or computer science for law students would broaden their horizons, as well as give them the chance to discover their unrecognized talents and interests. Furthermore, this extra knowledge provides students with flexibility that is beneficial in the job market. Take a mechanical engineer with an outstanding ability in graphic designing as an example; he probably has a better chance of promotion prospects.

On the other hand, occupations have become more specialized in recent years, therefore students need to put their occupational concentrations on a specific subject. The job market has evolved into a competitive environment where whoever has the most comprehensive knowledge and expertise would be successful. computer science students, as an example, have to focus on only one professional subcategory to enrich their skills and capabilities. Otherwise, there is little chance of going through their desirable career.

In my opinion, whether to focus on a specific subject or not depends on which year the students are. Fresh students of first or second years could benefit learning a variety of courses, whereas junior and senior students should apply themselves to their specialized field because they have to be ready to seek for their desired job.

In conclusion, the complexity and competitiveness of the job market require both specialization and a wide spectrum of knowledge. Therefore, it is crucial that universities change their approach based on learners' grades and situations.