University students should pay all the cost of studies because university education only benefits the students themselves not the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that it is necessary to request students to pay all the tuition fee since the college education only benefits themselves, instead of the whole society. I completely disagree with this point of view.

To begin with, universities are always the first places for students to approach the knowledge in specific areas such as Solar System Physics and Polymer Chemistry. By cultivating talents in the universities, governments can see more achievements made in the fields of science and technology. Thus, the society will benefit from a range of development achieved in modern technology. As a result, the living standard and social satisfaction will be improved.

What's more, by increasing the proportion of high-educated people, the country economy will become more knowledge-based. Compared with the repetitive works now increasingly done by machines, innovational sectors like information technology and engineering are requiring more and more skilled workers. In other words, people with a lower educational background may suffer from tons of rejections when they are seeking for jobs. Therefore, sending students into universities is a conducive way to increase the employment rate, and finally may bring out benefits to the economy.

Finally, financial support should be given to students, as many of whom come from undeveloped areas. For students like these, receiving the scholarship from governments or charity groups may be the only opportunity for them to advance from the lower class to the middle class. Therefore, supporting students who need help also contribute to the enlarging of the middle class and thus enhance the social stability.

To sum up, financial aid should be given to college students because they have a positive impact on social stability and technology development.