THE USE OF ELECTRONIC MEDIA HAS A NEGATIVE EFFECT ON PERSONAL RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN PEOPLE. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE WITH THE STATEMENT?

The development of electronic media has opened another door for people to interact each other more effectively in this digital world. However, there are some argument that this invention could harm the way human communicate. I partly agree with the idea for the following reasons.

Human being benefits a lot form a better connection thanks to the internet and technology devices. Firstly, for those who are living a far distance from their family and friends can use some chat tools to keep in touch with their beloved ones. Nowadays, many companies are releasing such a communicating application for users to use freely. This makes the distance become not a big deal anymore with variety options such as regular call or video call. Although these tools cannot bring a real feeling of sitting next to each other, it can show the emotions or virtual background to back up for that. Secondly, people could also take advantage of the applications to expand social contact. To be particular, we have some common web like facebook or linkedin to connect us to the world depending on individual reference.

On another hand, there is undeniable that the use of electronic media has some bad sides. The most noticeable effect is to wreck havoc on relationship. The statistics have shown the time focusing on computer of both children and adult are increasing. This lead to the time spent for their loved one becoming fiddle to work or game. In a long run, they hardly can find a common thing to share despite living under the same roof. Last but not least, to catch user’s attention, producers have been releasing so many programs via media channels, Some of them are informative yet some are not very well selected especially for kids. On the age of getting to know the world, kids tend to imitate what they had read and seen. Sometimes they are misbehavior in family or in the community which cause the broken relationship later on.

In conclusion, it is the usage that not the media to blame. If people know how to exploit the valuable function thought all channels, it will be definitely a good way to maintain the connection to one another.