The use of social media is replacing face to face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Along with the evolution of social media, face to face interaction tend to be less popular in the society. While I accept that this online connection platforms may have its downsides, I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, social media remains an efficient means of connecting communities across the world. Through social media, people who struggle with social skills can express themselves and socialize easily. Moreover, it can be benefical for marginalized groups. LGBT+ communities, for example, can avoid unequal behaviors on the internet rather than in public. Finally, it enables people to meet and interact with like-minded individuals that broaden their networking.

Despite its benefits, social media has some drawbacks. Firstly, frequent using of social media can not only create distance from friends and family but also facilitate cyberbullying. Additionally, it lead to feelings of envy and dissatisfaction as people may compare their life or appearance with that of others. Besides, social media can be physically harmful and be associated with anxiety and depression. For instance, blue light exposure from electronic devices used to access to social media can lead to insomnia and worsen sleep quality.