The use of social media is replacing face to face interaction among many people in society Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Rising debate over whether social media is starting to become the norm for the large percentage of the population stirs up controversy over many experts. While many people believe this trend is a necessary innovation for the new era, the others judge that this development has eradicated the conventional ways of communicating.

On the one side of the argument, social media has brought many people the advantage of distant communications. The biggest and most apparent merit of social media is the fact that it connects people despite their physical bounds. By means of video calls, phone calls and text messages, people, such as parents and children, are able to keep track of each other even when they are nations apart. Furthermore, in the turmoil of the COVID pandemic that we are living in, these forms of interpersonal communication is absolutely favourable. Social distancing means that people cannot come into close proximity with one another, but with the help of technology, families and friends can now keep in touch and care for each other.

However, we should not be in the misapprehension that social media has little or no consequences. Firstly, the growing use of online conversation is not analogous to the amount of verbal languages being used. Because users have a habit of using abbreviated words on social networks, they are not able to communicate by formal sentences. Secondly, being online at all times while avoiding human interactions indirectly make the person develop the fear of real human interactions. As an example, most of the programmers chose to work from home, by doing that they avoid human interactions and eventually gets more nervous among people.

In conclusion, having made contrasts between the two opinions, I believe that the advantages does not outweight the disadvantages. Thus, we should have a way of incorporating the use of social media and meeting people face to face in order to maximize the effectiveness of the former, while remaining the traditions of the latter.