We rely on news for our knowledge nowadays but we unsure how much we can trust journalists What is your opinion on it what qualities do you think should be required by journalists

In the recent times, individuals are dubious about the validity of news that they get by means of news and paper. I believe that media houses can be trusted by us in general. A good reporter should be ethical and inquisitive. Above mentioned answers are explained in detail further.

In my view, the newsmen should be trusted for two reasons. Primarily, news media acts as a moral guardian of a country. It provides information to the public if a government officer or institution is abusing power or harming the citizens. They also ensure appropriate performance of bureaucrats in administration. In addition to this, columnists also improve a society in general. By spreading awareness about social issues like female infanticide and education for girl child, correspondents bring about a social change that is essential for a healthy community. Many social reforms are achieved with their help.

Integrity and curiousness are two most important attributes of a journalist. Firstly, press is considered as the fourth pillar of democracy in India. When a reporter is identified as immoral, the credibility of the news media is compromised; therefore, a democracy is also weakened. Another defining trait of an exceptional reporter is curiosity. Although some people may declare a lack of interest in certain subjects, the reporter may not. The reporter should try to understand all subject areas (such as science, politics and economics), because they eventually relate to or intertwine with news stories.

In conclusion, it can be said that we should put our faith in the free press because they limit a government’s influence and bring reforms in the society. This would only be possible when a journalist is having a high moral standard and a thirst for knowledge about different subjects.