Wealthy nations should assist poorer countries with humanitarian relief during natural disasters
It is believed by some that developed countries should provide humanitarian aid to
underdeveloped countries during natural catastrophes. This essay strongly agrees with this
assertion because richer countries alone have the resources to do so and it is a moral imperative.
Developed nations are financially prosperous, so they have the unique ability to immediately help
others in crisis. As their economies are robust, they can provide the types of aid for countries in
crisis that no one else can. This aid can come in many forms, whether it be emergency health
care and provisions, or even various types of transport, which poorer nations are generally in
shortage of. For example, following the monsoon floods in Bangladesh, many nations helped by
providing temporary shelters, shipping untold amounts of food, and even loaning helicopters for
the evacuation, none of which could have been adequately provided by poorer countries.
The second reason why rich nations should help less fortunate ones is that it is the right thing to
do. From birth, we are all taught that we should love our fellow man and help each other when
we are in need. Being rich does not exempt oneself from this moral imperative. Rather, it makes it
essential, as if people cannot find it in themselves to share their ample resources with people
suffering in other countries, their values will erode at home. For example, Barack Obama once
said that if Americans could justify turning their backs on people who were suffering abroad, it
would then become easier for Americans to start turning their backs on each other.
In conclusion, this essay affirms that wealthy countries should assist poorer ones in times of need
because they have the resources to do so and it is the morally right thing to do.