As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

The idea that, besides generating profit, businesses should take responsibility for society remains a controversial issue. In my opinion, while making profits is a priority goal of a business, I agree that they should also fulfill their public responsibility.

On the one hand, making a profit in businesses is a different way to contribute to society. For example, the more money the enterprises earn, the more taxes they pay to the authorities. As a result, the government has more revenue to invest in infrastructures such as schools or hospitals, which helps to improve the inhabitant’s life quality. Moreover, when the companies developed, the need for more workers would rise. Consequently, the unemployment issue, which is the most urgent problem, is partly solved.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons for companies that should accept their social responsibility. First, their production processes have a direct impact on the environment. According to many public researches, discarded water still causes harm to aquatic animals although it has gone through wastewater processes. This also causes detrimental health for people surrounding those water sources. Secondly, enterprises should give back to the community because they have lots of money to do so. For instance, annually, Unilever and Vinamilk will use a small part of their profit to provide scholarships for disabled students. In this way, not only those students have more motivation to study but also increases the company’s image with the customers.

In conclusion, although generating money is the top of priority for a business, enterprises should take public responsibility into account.