The rise in the crime rate presents a major concern for today’s society. The question of whether nature or nurture is the main trigger for crimes remains a topic of debate. Although people’s nature can also be a contributing factor, I would agrue that surroundings has a more profound impact on human’s behaviours.

Human’s nature is thought to be a factor causing people to commit crime. According to to many proffesional geneticists, human characteristics are inherited form both parents. It means that children have father or mother who used to serve a prison sentence are more predisposed to comitting crimes. Moreover, studies reveal that a majority of serious murder or sexual criminals committing offences on order to satisfy their needs or violent personal trait. Such guilty actions are unplanned and their target victims can be randomly picked anywhere.

I hold an opinion that that illegal behaviours mainly come from human’s surroundings. The likelihood of people living in poverty committing crime is significantly high. Especially in the world crisis of COVID-19 at this time, many people have become unemployed and crime rates are rising in the most vunerable areas in the world. In addition, children raised in a dysfuntional family tend to solve conflicts by violence. Witnessing many arguments and violence during their formative years plays an important role in forming children’s characteristics when they grow up. These children believe that the most effective way to tackle problems and express themselves is using violent methods.

In conclusion, the motive of crimes is influenced by many elements including internal and external factors, but it seems to me that the environment is the leading factor causing that illegal behaviours.