what are the advantages and disadvantages of renewable resources of energy

Nowadays, new renewable resources of energy have emerged to be predominant in the energy industry. Beside certain spectacular upside, numerous drawbacks still coexist.

In the past, humanity had been developing a deep dependence on fossil fuels and these energy resources not only are primarily to blame for environmental degradation but also have an adverse impact on our health. This is now no longer the case due to the exponential growth of renewable energy systems and their crucial benefits. Firstly, renewable energy is an infinite and sustainable source of power, thereby appearing to be a long-term and pragmatic solution to meet the ever-increasing global demands for energy. Secondly, renewable sources of energy serve as an impeccable alternative to non-renewables and play a decisive role in protecting the environment as well as wildlife habitat. Renewable power generated from natural resources produces much less greenhouse gas emissions in comparison with its non-renewable counterpart and therefore helps to retain control of our globe’s average temperature, which also prevents polar ice caps from melting.

That is not to say that renewable energy’s development does not encounter any obstacles. It goes without saying that renewable forms of power, in general, is indeed intermittent since weather conditions are of paramount importance in energy production and thus decides the outcome of the process. Take wind energy as a prime paradigm, wind turbines could not turn their blades without sufficient wind, which is likely to bring about fits and starts on a regular basis. Additionally, it is extremely difficult and extravagant to build and operate renewable energy generators. For instance, generating electricity from solar energy requires 45 times more space than nuclear power and even less efficient than expected.

In conclusion, although new resources of energy possess a variety of valued advantages, there are also several disadvantages which have yet to be eradicated.