What are the causes and effects of the fact that youngsters like preschoolers and primary students have their own cellphone?

In today's world, cell phones have become an essential part of our lives. As a result, it is natural that children have access to this technology at such a young age. Although this phenomenon has some positive effects on their development. Yet, I disagree with this trend. In my view, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. In this essay, I will discuss the causes and effects of this fact, and give my opinion and examples from my own experience or knowledge.

There are two main reasons why youngsters own cell phones. The first reason is the lack of time and attention from parents to their children. Many parents struggle to balance work and family time. Unfortunately, this juggling act often results in fewer quality interactions with their children. They often use smartphones to appease, attract attention, or reward their children. The second reason is the imitation and influence of peers and society. Children are often curious and want to own what their friends or others have. They also want to express themselves and assert their position in the eyes of others. Having a smartphone will make them feel confident, modern, and accepted.

Nevertheless, having a smartphone can also cause serious harm to children’s health and psychology. Smartphones emit radiation that can harm children's brain development and health. Statistics have shown that children absorb more radiation than adults. As a consequence, the risk of brain tumors and other diseases is increasing in youngsters. The second effect is that smartphones can expose children to inappropriate or harmful content online. For instance, when parents are busy, they let their children watch videos. Kids might see violence, sex, drugs, or cyberbullying advertisements accidentally. This can damage their mental well-being and moral values.

In conclusion, smartphone usage among young children has more negative than positive effects. Thus, I disagree with this trend. If it were up to me, I would set aside quality time for the kids and track their online activity.