What are the disadvantages and advantages of learning a new language?

Learning a new language helps people to discover new aspects in life. People could easily move from one country to another or they can make global friends. In this essay, I discuss the disadvantages and advantages of learning a new language.

Firstly, people who can speak different languages could get access to many cultures in the world. They probably broaden their horizons and become confident people. Moreover, learners will gain more opportunities in their career paths. For example, a student who communicates in other languages could secure a place in university more easily than one who does not.

However, learning a new language is a long-term journey. People have to take more than 2 years to become fluent in a language. Besides, learners may spend a huge amount of money on buying references or study materials to improve their skills.

In conclusion, people should consider which language is suitable for them. Learners should have the right method to achieve their goals.