What are the effects of the abrupt shift (from offline learning) to online learning and the reverse (the abrupt shift from online learning to offline learning) on university students?

During the Covid-19 pandemic, there is a great deal of variation in everyone's life. As a result, individuals, especially the young, must learn to adjust to changing circumstances. Anything can stay stagnant; however, learning remains vital to continue. Therefore, it is compulsory for students to switch between two modes of learning: online and offline. Nevertheless, the abrupt shift in different learning forms has both detrimental and beneficial effects on students, which we must consider.

One of the significant consequences of a sudden shift in learning modes is health concerns. Students' physical health suffers due to the lack of physical activity when they begin online studying. Instead of going to school, students now merely sit in front of a screen all day to take classes. As a result, there are several issues with the eyes' health, the spine, and weight. "Taking online classes on bed and sofas are one of the commonest reasons that we can attribute to recent rise on back pains or fibromyalgic pains," according to Narayana Health (2020). Furthermore, the abrupt switch to online learning and vice versa may have a terribly negative impact on students' mental health. Forcing themselves to adjust quickly to a new study way may cause anxiety and depression. Because home confinement has totally replaced outside activities, they find it difficult to focus on the lessons consistently. Otherwise, when going back to traditional classes, students may be fatigued and daunting because they haven't left the house for a long time. Overall, sudden change in learning forms significantly affects students' health.

The abrupt shift in different modes of learning has an adverse impact on learners' finances. Apparently, technological devices are things that cost them the most. Instead of stationery, now online learning students must invest in electric devices such as laptops, smartphones, and headphones. In addition, they must pay more for internet connectivity to ensure that the connection is steady while attending online classes, which is burdensome for low-income families. Being in desperate need of those tools as well as being jobless due to the pandemic, they may be able to obtain an unsecured loan. Furthermore, while they are in an intermediate stage of learning transition, they must spend an amount of money on transportation from school to home in addition to furniture moving service and vice versa, especially if they live far away from home. As a result, those demands will put students under financial stress.

Nonetheless, we may disregard the fact that sudden change in forms of learning has some positive effects on students, the most prominent of which is broadening a wide range of useful skills. In particular, students will strengthen their adaptability in this challenging situation. Students learn to get used to new studying styles, new ways of interacting, and new forms of examinations, most of which are far different from the classic ones. Experiencing different modalities of learning, they can easily adjust themselves to any unforeseen circumstances in the future. Moreover, students can be more flexible after the abrupt shift. When it comes to online learning, they may not have the necessary hand materials for the course, but they will manage to find E-materials via the Internet on their own. Additionally, while using various internet platforms at first might be complicated, they can also help students become proficient in the technology field. Consequently, confronting such minor issues will greatly enhance their abilities.