To what extent does the Internet increase social cohesion?

It is true that the Internet has had a strong influence on social connection. It has affected relationships in various ways, and in my opinion, there are both positive and negative effects.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the Internet can bring people closer together. Social networking sites now allow people to broaden their social reach both personally and professionally, those sites not only permit users to stay in contact with friends and relatives but also reconnect with old friends from the past. The Internet also provides opportunities for people to make new friends, to connect with strangers in far-distant places who share similar interests, and they interact through their computers rather than face-to-face. Moreover, in the business world where people need to contact each other a lot, the Internet facilitates those meetings and connections to be more convenient with some apps such as Skype, Gmail. Internet eradicates the limits imposed by the physical world and makes it possible to communicate and exchange information with people everywhere.

However, concern for the social isolation caused by the Internet is growing. As people spend more time interacting with each other online, they spend less time in face-to-face communication. The Internet can lead to separation as families and neighbors spend less time together while they are busy using the Internet. As a consequence of that phenomenon, children in those families will be neglected by their parents who are definitely bad examples. Furthermore, in workplaces, people will spend all day reading emails and will have no time for bonding activities which could lead to the lack of connection between members of the company and bad for teamwork.

In conclusion, the Internet has certainly had a strong impact on the social cohesion, revolutionised communication between people, but not all of the outcomes of this revolution have been positive.