What is gender gap in technology, what are effects and how to resolve the problem?

In this contemporary world, technology is regarded as one of the most important industries because of its major contribution to social development. However, that the male scientists far outnumber female ones in technology is a severe dilemma which causes many problems. Ergo, it’s very essential and emergent to find the ways out.

The matter has wrought severe damage owing to the fact that the ratio of women and man varies greatly. According to a report, only 30% of female students are chase for their career in technology, compared to 70% of males. This reality leads to the reduction of quality in technology industry since a diverse mix of voice brought better discussions, decisions and outcome for everyone. In addition, because of the effect, companies which have gender gap will lose their position in the future. The proof is that the equal-gender-rate’s companies expand more rapid than the others.

Moreover, lack of female in technology also causes another serious consequence which is creation deficiency. If almost speakers are male, the limited range of perspectives and ideas will cause visibility’s restriction. In fact, diversified lecturer can creatively drive the conversation and advance the industry. Thus, it is absolutely scarce when not ensured more female researchers and leaders on stage.

While the problem is seemingly insurmountable the same is not left with no viable remedy and primacy of encouragement. University can provide more scholarship for female student and schools should direct and encourage them in follow technology career. In term of companies, in my opinion, remote work is a resolution because a plethora of women feel pressured into choosing between their careers or families.

All things considered, unbalanced gender rate in technology obstruct the development of this industry. So both governments and individuals need to attempt to resolve the matter.