What kind of punishment should be given to children who commit crime? Some people believe that children should be punished in the same way as adults.

Do you agree or disagree?

People have different perceptions towards the punishments for young children who commit serious crimes. Whether these underage criminals should be punished in the same way as adults when both of them do resemble crimes has become a controversial issue in the society today. However, in my view, I strongly disagree with this suggestion.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that the rate of criminal cases committed by young offenders is alarmingly increasing day by day. Therefore, some people advocate the fact that youngsters who commit severe crimes such as robbery, violent attacks or murders should be penalized with the same punishments as adults in order to deter them from commit harsh criminals again. In addition, as a positive result, it also helps creating safer and more peaceful society.

On the other hand, the most compelling reason for holding to my view is that children are generally not mature enough to realize whether their actions are legal or illegal. Therefore, I assert the view that it is unfair for children if the authorities impose similar penalties to them instead of having lenient punishments such as education or renovation at the vocational training programs. What is more, young offender deserve to be given time to reflect themselves, their actions as well as to restart their lives with better ways. As such, they should be punished mild penalties like participating in social and community works as volunteers to a certain amount of time.

In conclusion, although some people claim that young criminals should be penalized as senior citizens, I believe that there are other alternative ways of punishments which can create “win-win” situation for both children and society as I mentioned above. After all, given this situation, it is recommended that the policy makers around the world should take into account about implementing this form of punishment.