When design a building, the most important factor is tended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are some different views about whether a function or an outlook of building is the most important factor when designing. While I think the function of building plays a vital role, I agree with the view that the outward appearance is equally important in some extent.

On the one hand, it is true that many buildings which have especial functions need to focus on how to use it most effectively when design these buildings. The main argument is that the investors want to maximize the use which others building can not perform well. It is exemplified by the schools, architect designs the building with many similar and consecutive rooms into a row, and it has a large yard where students have a chance to enjoy recreational activities. Another special building is the bank, for instance, a large building where exchange and store money should to be designed solidly and have many security classes to maximize the safety.

On the other hand, apart from purpose of use, the appearance of building is very necessary. To begin with citizens’ demand, they have a right to live or work in beautiful buildings. Thanks to this, residents might feel comfortable in their house and their productivity would be enhanced in wonder workplace. Additionally, a city which has same design buildings always attract tourists because of their significant outlook. This leads to the fact that not only would tourism in this city be developed but also create more and more job opportunity to local people. Hoi An ancient town in Vietnam is an example, this town become the top of famous city tourism by typical architecture with yellow walls and wooden pillars.

In conclusion, while I believe the uses of building is important, I would deny the necessary of outward appearance of buildings.